Skip to content

EURO 2024: Germany hosts exciting tournament with top teams and key matches

EURO 2024: Germany hosts exciting tournament with top teams and key matches UEFA Euro 2024 Final Draw - Elbphilharmonie Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany - December 2, 2023 General view of the groups during the draw (Reuters)
By Ihlas Haber Agency
Jun 13, 2024 1:52 PM

The 2024 UEFA European Football Championship (EURO 2024), to be held in Germany, kicks off tomorrow and concludes with the final in Berlin on July 14.

Hosted by Germany from June 14 to July 14, the 2024 European Championship begins with the Germany vs. Scotland match at 22:00 CET tomorrow. The tournament will last for 31 days, featuring 51 matches. A total of 24 teams will compete in six groups of four. Countries finishing in the top two of their groups and the best four third-placed teams will advance to the Round of 16.

Group stage matches end on June 26, followed by the Round of 16 starting on June 29. Quarterfinals will be held on July 5-6, and semifinals on July 9-10.

Germany as host for the second time

Germany is hosting the UEFA European Football Championship for the second time, having previously hosted it in 1988. The 1988 championship saw the Netherlands defeat the Soviet Union in the final.

Matches across 10 cities

Matches will take place in ten German cities: Berlin, Cologne, Munich, Frankfurt, Hamburg, Dortmund, Leipzig, Gelsenkirchen, Stuttgart, and Düsseldorf. The opening match will be in Munich, with the final in Berlin.

Stadium capacities

Stadium capacities range from the highest at Berlin Olympic Stadium with 71,000 spectators to the lowest at Leipzig Stadium with 40,000.

Previous champions and notable statistics

Germany and Spain are the most successful nations in the tournament’s history, each winning it three times. Italy and France have won it twice each, while Portugal, the Netherlands, Denmark, Czech Republic, Greece, and the Soviet Union have one title each.

Last Champion: Italy

The 2020 UEFA European Football Championship, held in 2021 due to the pandemic across eleven different European countries, saw Italy defeat England in the final at Wembley Stadium. Italy won the tournament after a penalty shootout.

Host countries winning championships

Since 1960, three teams have won the UEFA European Football Championship while hosting the tournament: Spain in 1964, Italy in 1968, and France in 1984.

Top scorer and most appearances: Cristiano Ronaldo

Portugal’s Cristiano Ronaldo is the top scorer in European Football Championship history, having scored 14 goals in 25 matches across the 2004, 2008, 2012, 2016, and 2020 tournaments. Ronaldo holds the record for the most goals in the tournament. Additionally, Michel Platini from France, Alan Shearer from England, and Antoine Griezmann from France have seven goals each.

Referees from 15 countries

Nineteen referees from fifteen different countries will officiate the matches. Türkiye will be represented by referee Halil Umut Meler, who is making his debut in the UEFA European Football Championship.

Prize money

Participating countries will receive €9,250,000 as participation fees. The champion will receive €1 million, while €500,000 will be awarded for draws. Teams reaching the Round of 16 will get €1.5 million, quarterfinalists will receive €2.5 million, and semifinalists will earn €4 million. The winning country will receive an additional €8 million.

Group stage matchups for the 2024 UEFA European Football Championship are as follows:

  • Group A: Germany, Scotland, Hungary, Switzerland
  • Group B: Spain, Croatia, Italy, Albania
  • Group C: Slovenia, Denmark, Serbia, England
  • Group D: Poland, Netherlands, Austria, France
  • Group E: Belgium, Slovakia, Romania, Ukraine
  • Group F: Türkiye, Georgia, Portugal, Czech Republic
Last Updated:  Jun 19, 2024 7:44 AM